Holiday Packages

Holiday Packages

Friday, February 17, 2012

What is the Char Dham Yatra starting date in 2012

This year temples of Chardham circuit in Uttarakhand are opening from 22 April, 2012 itself.  Every year millions of people visiting Chardham circuit during Yatra period as these four main canters of pilgrimage in Uttarakhand, namely Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri & Yamunotri are considered one of the most sacred and important sites of Hindu devotees.

Though the main Chardhams of India are Badrinath Jee in Uttrakhand, Dwarka Jee in Gujrat, Jagannath-Puri in Orissa & Rameshwaram in Tamil Nadu but Badrinath Jee in Uttrakhand is considered as one of the most significant in all four Dhams. Earlier Badrinath Jee along with Kedarnath Jee, Shri Gangotri & Yamunotri are called Chota Chardham but now this circuit called Chardham of Uttarakhand due to increasing popularity every year.

According to Hindu mythology & devotees believe that a person should experience chardham Yatra at least once in their life to free him/her all past sins and one can find the great peace of mind as all these sites are blessed with extreme power of GOD with natural beauty.

Chardhams of Uttarakhand

Yamunotri Dham – This holy place named after River Yamuna - The home of Goddess Yamuna and a sister of Yamraj. Maharani Gularia of Jaipur built Yamunotri Temple in the 19th Century after It was destroyed twice in the present century and rebuilt again. Before entering the Yamunotri Temple It is said that a rock pillar named Divya Shila to be worshipped. In the vicinity of the temple numbers of thermal springs are there, which flows into numerous pools. Surya Kund spring is most important among the all springs where raw rice can be cooked and distributed among devotees as a prasad.

Gangotri Dham: This holy place named after River Ganges - The home of Goddess Gangotri, situated an elevation of 3,048 meters.  Gangotri Temple constructed by the Gorkha General Amar Singh Thapa in the 18th Century, situated in small village on the right bank of Bhagirathi. Kedar Ganga - The River which starts from Kedar valley is also flowing around 100 yards from Ganga Temple. Kedar Ganga River meets the Bagirathi on its left bank which is called Kedar Ganga Sangam. It is said evening Aarti of Gangotri Temple is very famous. 

Kedarnath Dham: This holy place named after Kedarnath Ji, (Kedar is the name of Lord Shiva which means the protector and the destroyer), situated an elevation of 3,584 meters. Sri Kedarnath Ji Temple is one of the 12 jyotirlingas of Lord Shiva situated at the backdrop of the majestic Kedarnath range and also considered as Shankaracharya’s samadhi. The temple here is really impressive and located in the most remote place of the four Dhams.

Badrinath Dham: This holy place named after Badrinath Ji and dedicated to lord Badrinarayan, situated at an elevation of 3,133 meters - Badrinath Dham is the most critical destination of the char dham. The journey to this place normally starts from Kedarnath Jee. This revered spot was once carpeted with wild berries. Thus the place got the name "Badri van", meaning "forest of berries".  Badrinath ji is one of the 'Four Dhams' and most celebrated pilgrimage spots of the country guarded on either side by the two mountain ranges known as Nar & Narayan with the towering Neelkanth Peak providing a splendid backdrop.

Due to religious importance of Char Dham Yatra, every year numbers of devotees have been increasing to visit this circuit. This year Ashoka India Tours is offering one the best group tours according to client’s budget & Private trips to their clients from round the world with unmatched services.

Ashoka India Tours - leading Chardham Yatra 2012 offering Chardham Yatra by Helicopter and chardham yatra from Delhi.


  1. good pot for travelers

  2. The Char Dham of the Garhwal Himalayas in Uttarakhand represents all three major Hindu sects and consists of one site joined by one Shiva site (Kedarnath) and two Shakti sites (Gangotri and Yamunotri).